Step-By-Step Guide To Healing Your 7 Chakras


We often hear talk about healing and balancing chakras, but what does it all really mean? We know there are 7 of them but what are they, where are they and what are their significance?

We went straight to the experts on this one and got the full, in-depth chakras scoop from our friends over at Sivana
Located throughout the spinal column are tiny points of energy known as chakras. These energy points have long been known to the ancient Hindu culture and are the key to many secret yoga teachings.


When these chakras come into balance, they bring harmony- spiritually, mentally, and emotionally.

In fact, sometimes when we feel ‘off’, it’s really just these energy points that need to be worked on.

Tapping into the power of affirmations and visualization is one of the best ways to balance them.

Recognizing our thoughts create our reality, and by regularly practicing positive affirmations, we can achieve incredible results in our lives.

Root Chakra

The Root Chakra (located at the tail bone), connects us to the earth and our basic survival and physical needs.

When our root chakra is unbalanced, we may feel very disconnected from our earthly needs.

A feeling of being unsafe or ‘floaty’ in the world may also be present.

To heal the Root Chakra, visualize a red light filling up the root spot and imagine it radiating into the earth; grounding and connecting you to your surroundings.

“I am grounded, stable, and standing on my own two feet.”
“I feel deeply rooted.”
“I am connected to my body.”
“I feel safe and secure.”
“Just like a tree or a star, I have the right to be here.”
“I nourish my body with healthy food, water, exercise, relaxation, and connection to nature.”
“I trust in the goodness of life.”
“I trust myself.”

Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra (located two fingers below the navel by the reproductive organs), honors sexuality and pleasurable experiences.

When our sacral chakra is off balance we are blocked in our sexuality, commitment, and the ability to enjoy experiences or take care of our body properly.

To heal the Sacral Chakra, place hand over your lower abdomen and visualize it filling it up with an orange light.

“I allow myself to experience pleasure.”
“I value and respect my body.”
“I love and accept my body.” 
“I have healthy boundaries.” 
“I am open to experiencing the present moment through my senses.” 
“I am passionate.” 
“I feel pleasure and abundance with every breath I take.” 
“I know how to take care of my needs.” 
“My sexuality is sacred.”

Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra (located under the chest area, and above the navel), connects us to strength, identity, and life force.

When imbalanced a person may have issues with self-esteem and finding their power.

The inner critic comes out in this imbalance; fears of rejection, criticism, and judgment may be present.

To heal the Solar Plexus Chakra, imagine a yellow light filling up your insides between the chest and naval.

Since this chakra deals with self-respect, sit or stand up straight, lift your chest, and feel the power filling you up as you read these affirmations.

“I am strong and courageous.”
“I am free to choose in any situation.” 
“I love and accept myself.” 
“I am worthy of love, kindness, and respect.” 
“I am proud of my achievements.” 
“I honor my self.” 
“I direct my own life.” 
“I seek opportunities for personal and spiritual growth.”

Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra (located in the center of the chest), honors the heart and emotions.

When our heart chakra is off-balance we may experience “over-loving” to the extent of suffocation, jealousy, feelings of abandonment, anger, bitterness, or loneliness.

To heal the Heart Chakra, place palm or object over your chest (close to the heart), and imagine a healing green (or emerald) light glowing in your chest.

“I deeply, and completely, love and accept myself.”
“I am open to love.”
“I nurture my inner child.”
“I am wanted and loved.”
“I live in balance; in a state of grace and gratefulness.”
“I forgive myself.”
“I am connected with other human beings.”
“I am grateful for the challenges that help me transform and open up to love.”
“I am open to love and kindness.”

Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra governs communication, expression, and creativity.

One who feels that they cannot, or do not, have the right to express their truth or opinions, may have a wounded throat chakra that is blocking them.

To heal the Throat Chakra, place your dominant hand on your throat and imagine it filling up with a blue light.

After doing these affirmations, imagine your throat filling up with any blocked expression you feel, and breathe it out until you can no longer feel a blockage.

Since the Throat Chakra is located in the vocal chords, try to use your voice as much as possible during this meditation, whether it’s reading the affirmations out loud or just humming a quick tune to get your vocal chords vibrating.

“I have a strong will that lets me resolve my challenges.”
“I can share my experiences and wisdom.”
“I am open, clear, and honest, in my communication.” 
“I have a right to speak my truth.”
“I have integrity.”

“I communicate my feelings with ease.” 
“I express myself through creativity, writing, or art.” 
“I live an authentic life.” 
“I listen to my body and feelings to know what my truth is.”

Brow Chakra

The Brow Chakra (a.k.a the third eye, located between the eyebrows), honors and governs our psychic and intuitive abilities.

When our brow chakra is wounded we may feel that we are disconnected from our inner wisdom, and its power to guide our life.

An inability to see our own fears, and learn important lessons from others may also be present.

It’s also the ‘stepping stone’ to connect to the highest Crown Chakra.

To heal the Brow Chakra, focus on these affirmations while imagining an indigo light in the center of your forehead.

“I forgive the past and learn what was there for me to learn.”
“I am wise, intuitive, and connected with my inner guide.”
“I am in touch with my inner guidance.”
“I listen to my deepest wisdom.”
“I nurture my spirit.”
“I am grateful for the goodness in my life.” 
“I am open to inspiration and ideas.” 
“I am the source of my truth.” 

Crown Chakra

Considered to be the most important of all the chakras, the Crown Chakra (located at the top of your head), honors spiritual connectedness.

In Hindu teachings, they call it the Thousand Petaled Lotus.

Sometimes, we may feel that this connection is broken, or shaky at the least, and therefore have a feeling of being too connected to the physical world and not enough spiritual inspiration.

To heal the Crown Chakra, read these affirmations while focusing on the spot at the top of your head.

Imagine a white or purple colored light connecting you to that which is outside of yourself.

“I am part of the divine.” 
“I seek to understand, and learn from my life experiences.” 
“I am connected and listen to the wisdom of the universe.” 
“I am one with the universe. I cannot detach from it, as it cannot detach from me.” 
“I cherish my spirit.” 
“I am open to divine wisdom.” 
“I live in the present moment.”



Comments are closed.